Erik's blog

Code, notes, recipes, general musings

Getting started with unit testing for Node.js

with 3 comments

I’m diving into unit testing with Node.js, and my first stop is nodeunit. Luckily, Caolan McMahon wrote an excellent introduction to nodeunit on his blog. Thanks, Caolan.

I installed nodeunit via npm no problem: npm install nodeunit

All the examples in the Installing nodeunit section worked fine, but I needed to add
var events = require('events');
to the first code sample in the Testing asynchronous code section to get those tests to pass. So, the top of my test-doubled.js file looks like:

var doubled = require('../lib/doubled');
var events = require('events');
...

Farther down in the blog post, in the Shared state and sequential testing section, there’s a code sample with the events include in it, so I think I’m on the right track.

In the Test cases, setUp and tearDown section, I had trouble getting the tests to run. After referencing the project’s README file, I tried adding a callback arg to setUp() and tearDown(), and calling the callback, which worked. So, my code looks like:

...

var testCase = require('nodeunit').testCase;

exports.read = testCase({
setUp: function (callback) {
this._openStdin = process.openStdin;
this._log = console.log;
this._calculate = doubled.calculate;
this._exit = process.exit;

var ev = this.ev = new events.EventEmitter();
process.openStdin = function () { return ev; };

callback();
},
tearDown: function (callback) {
// reset all the overidden functions:
process.openStdin = this._openStdin;
process.exit = this._exit;
doubled.calculate = this._calculate;
console.log = this._log;

callback();
},
...

With the minor tweaks above, I was able to get all tests to pass:
Screenshot of all tests passing

🙂

Written by Erik

December 6, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Posted in notes

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] recently started exploring testing options for Node.js. Yesterday, I wrote about my experiences with nodeunit. Today, I found Christian Johansen’s blog post Unit testing node.js apps. Thanks for the […]

  2. I’m stuck for a while following Caolan’s blog as well.
    Same as you, I got to know that I have to explicitly invoke callback in setUp and tearDown. I don’t know why they set API like this.
    IMHO, there is no arguments to callback. Why not just have the system trigger it? For asynchronous? I don’t understand.

    Morgan Cheng

    June 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm

  3. Thank you very much! I had exactly the same problem and didn’t wanted to quit from that great blog with errors 😀

    Serch

    June 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm


Leave a Reply

